heart overflow

Happy Monday, sweet friends.

So, I recently had a conversation with a new friend about my beliefs and my faith in God. I knew that this friend didn’t hold my same beliefs, and I was interested to see what exactly they did believe in. My friend told me about having a belief in God, but not in the Bible as His Word, per se, and not in an afterlife. It was a great discussion, very open and respectful, and I truly enjoyed hearing about another person’s beliefs and reasons for them.

But in my Christ-loving heart, I felt frustrated. Not frustrated-angry, but frustrated-sad. And my  reasoning is this: I have joy unsurpassable and peace unexplainable. I have been healed inside and out, forgiven beyond what I deserve, and loved impossibly and unconditionally. All of these things and more, simply because I am in love with Jesus Christ. I choose Him because He is good and sweet and merciful and gracious and powerful and WORTHY. I choose Him because, for some reason absolutely unknown to me, He chooses ME – every moment of every day, in spite of how hopelessly unworthy and imperfect I am.

And so when I encounter a person that has given extensive thought to Jesus and the “Christian” life, and chooses not to follow Him, it crushes me. Not because I think I have all the answers, or because they have an opinion other than mine. But because I know that through the Lord, I have the gift of ultimate LIFE, both here on Earth and forever after. And because I have it, I want the people I love to have it.

And at the risk of sounding super preachy or converty (converty?), it makes me feel like I want to shake people. It’s like being friends with someone who’s sort of misunderstood, and you know if people just gave them a chance, they’d understand: If you just KNEW Jesus like I do. If you just tried to know him for real.

So I was feeling like this about my sweet new friend, and then I saw this quote (also pictured above):

“We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”     C. S. Lewis

UGH, Lewis. Perfection, right? So now, I pray. I pray that this friend and any other friends of mine who don’t know Jesus like I do would find themselves surrounded by his love. That the joy given to me would spill over onto my loved ones, and that they may recognize His fingerprints all over it. And that they would know that my sharing my faith with them isn’t because I want to convert them. It’s because I love them too much to not share this thing that is my life.

God, may they understand.

xo t.elyse

One thought on “heart overflow

Leave a Reply

