weekend life

:: LISTEN: Rainbow by Robert Plant ::

Hello! Yes, it’s Tuesday and I’m just now writing about my weekend…But to be fair, I think the painful experience that is the beginning of the workweek deserves a throwback to happier times. In other words, I’d like to think about my free-time adventures rather than the current mundanity. Is that ok? Ok.

I had kind of an awesome weekend, like the kind that seems just long enough for you to accomplish everything you wanted to AND take a nap (or two). I think part of it was due to the fact that I purposed myself to document my adventures, even if they weren’t super exciting. I think I might try to do this more often, if for no other reason than to be able to look back someday on what my daily life was like in 2014. So, I will take you from the beginning, or from when I started being awake and taking pictures.

::Saturday::

DSC_1039 DSC_1035 DSC_1040 DSC_1046

I started my Saturday morning with a trip to the mall on an errand for my mama. I tried my hand at snapping photos while driving…This is not safe, and I don’t recommend it. Also I definitely got weird looks from neighboring cars. So, don’t be one of those girls (me).

DSC_1047

After that, I came back home and made a list for a much-needed trip to the grocery store. Am I the only one who waits until I’m eating pickles for lunch to go to the store? Procrastination at its’ finest.

DSC_1052 DSC_1055 DSC_1056 DSC_1058 DSC_1059 DSC_1060 DSC_1061 DSC_1062 DSC_1064

What happened next was a visit to Target, and the aftermath of said visit. I dunno guys, I’m not ok when I go there. The dollar section is way too exciting for my tiny, craft-lovin heart to handle. Anyway, once I came home I lit my new candles picked up from the White Barn Candle Co. and got to work on adding a few new cards to the shop. Here’s a quick description of the pictures starting at the top: (1) A new girly added to the shop…I know things are still looking a bit bare, but I have had a recent burst of motivation to make it a happening place. (2) Possibly my favorite White Barn scent ever: Marshmallow Fireside. I am SO excited they brought it back this Fall. (3&4) Pumpkin Caramel Latte and Pumpkin Pecan Waffle…Guys, these smell so good I had to fight the urge to lick them a little bit. Also, these cute jar candles are 2 for $20 right now…Just saying! (5) Onto the dollar section in Target: these super cute black clothespins with pointed edges. I’m thinking I will use them to hang some cool prints or something. (6) Cute little gift tags for a friend 🙂 (7&8) Kraft paper sticker labels and chalkboard sticker labels that came together in a pack. Thinking I will use them for packaging/shipping cards bought from the shop. (9) WHAT is the cuteness that is these stickers??? I’m 10 years old inside, and I’m obsessed. When will I use them? ALWAYS. Maybe if you’re nice and lucky (or just ask me to) I will write you a letter and include a sticker of FOOD WITH FACES, Y’ALL.

::Sunday::

DSC_1065

Call me silly, but on the weekends I like to dress up and play with muh makeups. This is really because being a preschool teacher, I don’t normally get the opportunity to wear clothes that I’d rather not have paint/crumbs/boogers on 🙂 So Sunday morning I almost made it to church on time, but when I realized that I’d be ridiculously late I decided to do this instead. I know that Jesus loves me in spite of this, and I even sang some songs for him as I curled my hair. Thank the Lord he likes us a whole lot and has a sense of humor 🙂

DSC_1061

In addition to being ridiculous, I got a whole bunch of cleaning done Sunday morning. Obviously I didn’t take pictures of myself scrubbing my toilet (should I have?), so instead I give you a little snippet of my Autumn decor in my freshly-cleaned kitchen. Aren’t white pumpkins so pretty??

DSC_1058

A little gift for a sweet friend!

abm_1411921154

I’m a little in love with my front porch! Mums and pumpkins make my heart so happy. (I took this picture on my phone and edited it with the A Beautiful Mess app.)

DSC_1068 DSC_1069

After my relaxing morning at home I met up with my Grandma at Barnes & Noble! It’s her Sunday after-church tradition, and I’ve been joining in the fun with her. I so love spending time with my Grandma. She’s sweet and kind and so much fun to be around. I am so thankful that we live nearby and that we’ve always had such a close relationship. We’re very nearly the same person, which is both fun for us and mind-boggling for my mother 😉

DSC_1070

And who should I run into there but this little gem of a friend! The one and only Derek Shatto. This friend is of the sweetest variety. He is genuine and inspiring. I have so much more to say about him and his ministry, but that’s for another post (coming soon!).

imag0821

Then we went to see The Maze Runner, which, if you haven’t seen it, is SO awesome. I was quite literally on the edge of my seat for most of the movie, and I’m pretty sure I let out audible “No…NO….No…”‘s throughout. I haven’t read the book, which I’ve heard is also amazing. Let me know if you’ve read it!

WHEW. What a weekend. Perfect, right? Maybe it doesn’t sound like your cup of tea, but it was just what I needed: good friends, my sweet family, and rejuvenating me-time. If this was at all entertaining to read or you want to tell me about your weekend adventures, please comment and let me know!

Also, with wanting to add so much more to my shop, I would love to hear some suggestions about things that you would like to see on a card. I know I tend to get stuck in ruts of things that I just enjoy drawing for myself, but I definitely want to branch out and make things that people will want to buy either for themselves or others! So, let me know.

And as always, thank you so much for reading my little musings. You’re the best. Yes, You.

❤ t. elyse

Leave a Reply

