travel envy

DSC_1073 DSC_1074 DSC_1076

(A few on-the-road snapshots from my mini trip to New York this past weekend!)

Being a self-proclaimed house cat, I never thought I’d get to a point where I had an overwhelming desire to travel. I’ve been SO lucky in my life so far in that I’ve had so many opportunities to go overseas, both for missions work and for extended stays over the summer throughout high school and college. And I had a blast, but extreme travel anxiety sort of put a damper on the whole thing, and usually once I got back home I was ready to kiss planes, trains, and automobiles goodbye. Thankfully, though, God is good and I’m happy to say that I can once again travel without the hours of pacing and nail-biting beforehand. Of course, now I am a grown-up with a job and a schedule and a tight budget, so my thoughts and dreams of going back to Europe have to remain just thoughts and dreams for the time being. So, I figured if I can’t actually go anywhere, I’d channel my wanderlust into something creative. Plus I found some super cute old-timey postage envelopes, so a Travel Series just had to be made.

DSC_1077 DSC_1079 DSC_1082 DSC_1083 DSC_1085

Luggage is fun, isn’t it? Well, not in reality. In reality it’s heavy and awkward and obnoxious to carry/roll/drag through the airport/train station. But in old movies it always looks glamorous, with the hat boxes and the matching leather sets. Anyway, I like it.

DSC_1086 DSC_1087 DSC_1088 DSC_1089

Not a real plane, I know. But paper airplanes are just cuter, and if I’m completely honest, a thousand times easier to draw. You still get the sentiment, right?

DSC_1095

Why New York City? It’s my favorite place in the world. Whenever I feel stir-crazy, I’m ready for NYC. It’s fast and exciting and magical, and I never ever get tired of it.

These are definitely going in my shop soon, but I feel like maybe I should take some better pictures. I have this weird affinity towards mood-lighting, but I feel like it maybe doesn’t translate into product shots. I know you’re “supposed” to shoot these things in natural daylight, against a neutral background or something like that. But do I have to?? Can I break the rules? Are these appropriate product shots that give a decent idea of what they look like in real life? I don’t know. Thoughts?? I love feedback from my friends, I NEED it. So, comments please!

Thanks for visiting!

t. elyse

Leave a Reply

