november

:: Listen: Every Stone by Manchester Orchestra ::

Tis’ the season for sweaters and hot cocoa and holidays, and life is just so lovely. In case you’ve forgotten, let me just take a moment and remind you how good things are. The air is crisp and has the best kind of bite, holiday colors are being splashed up everywhere you go, and personally, I think it’s the perfect time for dreaming. Even if you don’t like the cold and Christmas is coming too quickly for you, you have to admit that there’s a certain buzz in the air that only comes around a few times a year. So step outside, soak up the energy. Reflect on your life that is and dream about what could be. Make your Christmas list and think about what to give your friends and family that will bring a smile to their face. The giving, my friends. The energy is all in the giving. I know it’s early, but just think about it. You might have fun. Just maybe.

While I’m holiday dreaming/planning/crafting, I’d thought I’d share some loveliness that’s been happening around here.

DSC_1075 DSC_1077 DSC_1078DSC_1080

A few weeks ago I spent the weekend in Philly for my best friend’s birthday. It was one of those refreshing weekends that brings you back to yourself, if that makes sense. Jo is a hardworking architect and we don’t get to see each other as much as we’d like because of her crazy schedule, so any time we get to hang out is cherished. That Sunday morning we had brunch at the sweetest little French cafe, and it was perfect. Fresh scones with homemade butter, and the strongest cappuccino I’ve had in a while. Be still, my heart.

ABM_1416174742

Yesterday, I came home to a letter sitting on the counter from a sweet college friend. I was admittedly in a mood and kind of just feeling down for a myriad of reasons, but I was really excited to see what was in this envelope. Inside was my FAVORITE print from one of my very favorite artists, Nan Lawson, along with the sweetest letter that said everything that I needed to hear in that moment. Like, exactly what I needed. I am not a believer in coincidence. This was an instance of love Divine and All-Knowing, and I’m sure my kind friend had no idea that she was being used for such perfect good. (Allison, a thank-you letter is en route. You have no idea.)

IMAG0950

Sunday morning sketches. Every week I fall more in love with my church and everyone there. It is warm, welcoming, and full of truth. If you need somewhere to call home, try Middlesex United Methodist. It took me years to find a church that made me feel ok with church again. I’d be happy to bring you!

Thanks for visiting, friends. Breathe in November, won’t you?

t.elyse

One thought on “november

Leave a Reply

