my garden and dabbling in veganism

Oh. My. Goodness. It has been a minute. I’m kidding, that’s a stupid saying. It’s been many minutes. But here’s the thing, I super miss this. I miss writing, I miss taking pictures and sharing them, etc. And I kind of think I have a super incredible life for so many reasons, and I hope that sharing my joy can remind others of their own. (Was that an ok transition? Can I show you my pictures now? Ok thanks!)

So, I kind of love gardening. And by “gardening” i mean planting vegetables and herbs in containers, setting them on my porch, and chanting “PLEASEDONTDIEPLEASEDONTDIE” to them daily. I just love the idea of growing something from a tiny seed to an actual yummy vegetable or sweet-smelling herb. Anyway, enough rambling, here’s some pictures from last weekend when I potted them. I decided to wait until nighttime because it was way too hot that day, and I’m so glad I did because the pictures turned out pretty neat, I think 🙂

DSC_0008 DSC_0009DSC_0014 DSC_0015 DSC_0018 DSC_0022 DSC_0023 DSC_0025Aren’t they just darling?? So far I’ve got tomatoes, zucchini, and cucumbers in the veggie category, and rosemary and lavender for my herbs. I did have an INCREDIBLE-smelling mojito mint, but it met a swift demise on one of the super hot days we had lately…sad. Here’s to hoping the rest of my little plant friends flourish!The balcony seems like it would be a happy place to live, so hopefully they like it!

Oh, and here’s a few other little randoms:

DSC_0028This pretty shot comes as a result of my parents calling me frantically saying “THERE’S A RAINBOW OUTSIDE GO LOOK AT IT IT’S A RAINBOW THERE’S A RAINBOW!!” My dad basically made me write my name in blood promising to take a picture of it. But I’m glad they did, because it was quite gorgeous! You can’t tell from this picture, but there was actually a double rainbow! There was a really faint one stretching over top of the other. So neat.DSC_0029

DSC_0033 (Baked sweet potatoes are not quite as delicious as they look, just so you don’t get your hopes up, but they’re not too bad either 🙂 )

So if you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know that I recently decided to dabble in being vegan, specifically a “high-carb, low-fat, plant-based” vegan. Pretentious, I know. But it’s just a lifestyle that has caught my attention through various articles and videos on Youtube (I subscribe to a lot of vloggers that I just find really interesting to watch, I’ll do a post about it sometime), and people always rave about the health benefits of eating this way. It’s centered around fruits, vegetables, and healthy starches like sweet potatoes and rice. As it is a vegan diet, that means no meat, dairy, or animal byproducts of any kind (i.e. eggs). It’s pretty extreme, but many of the people I’ve read about/watched started following it because they suffered from health problems of different kinds, and wanted a natural way to eliminate those issues. I don’t really have any health issues per se, but I have always been fascinated by how much of an impact food has on the way people feel. ANYWAY, I decided to give it a try! I haven’t been extremely strict with it (on the weekends I’ve had some sweets and dairy), but during the week and in the majority of my meals I’ve tried to keep it to fruits, veggies, and healthy fats like nuts/nut butter. And honestly, even without doing it 100% I have noticed a change in how I look and feel, namely my stomach – you know that bloated feeling you get after you eat? GONE. My stomach feels flat, and I don’t feel yucky or too full after I eat! And on the opposite end, I don’t feel hungry or like I’m not eating enough. My only complaint so far is that I’ve been feeling really drained, like I could nap for hours and still go to bed at 9:00. Now, I’m a pretty low-energy person to begin with, due to having low iron, but it’s been noticeably worse since cutting out meat and dairy. This means I’ll just have to increase my intake of other foods that are naturally higher in protein and iron, such as spinach and beans.

Wow, I really didn’t intend for this post to be about that, but you’re ok with a little tangent now and again, right?? As always, thanks so much for visiting! More to come soon, along with some changes to my Etsy shop! Hope the rest of your holiday weekend is downright lovely. 

t. elyse

Leave a Reply

