Auld Lang Syne

2016…

…amiright?

But for real – it was a big year, for all of us. Take that however you’d like; I recognize that it wasn’t a great one for a ton of people, or for many entire countries, for that matter.

As for me?

joshtaylor-0267joshtaylor-0274joshtaylor-0286joshtaylor-0454joshtaylor-0480

(All pictures courtesy of This Lovely Light)

I made what I described to my best friends as “the craziest but easiest decision of my life” and said yes to the sweetest man on Earth. I say “craziest” because of the timeline of our whirlwind romance: we met in November 2015, were engaged by April 2016, and married on October 22nd, 2016. It was a love story for the books, and sometimes I am convinced my husband actually escaped from an Austen-style romance novel. He really is that good…I could gush, but I’ll spare you, as this post isn’t really about him.

As I’m sure you’ve picked up on, 2016 was a pretty momentous year for me. It was thrilling and terrifying and exciting and BUSY. But to tell you the truth, in all the hustle and bustle of wedding planning, changing jobs, selling a house, and moving (and the subsequent and frequent emotional breakdowns that come along with all of that), I missed being able to do some of the things that I love the most – making art and writing about the simple sweetness of everyday life.

That leads me to my New Year’s resolution: Create. More. Art.

Over the years, I’ve made and broken promises to myself to really focus on creating for my shop. But this year I finally feel like I am in a place where I am able to make it happen. I am settled in my new life here in Philadelphia, and I have a husband who not only encourages me to work harder to pursue my passion but leads by example; he gives 100% at his job but also uses his free time wisely, to study or learn about the things he is interested in. He’s unknowingly given me the kick in the butt I needed to start taking what I love more seriously, and to make it into what I want it to be. (Ok, so this post is about him…Insert your barf sounds here.)

SO. To jumpstart my year of kicking my own butt creatively, I am putting an offer out to the world (or just to my friends and family who actually read my rambles 😉 ): If you’d like to receive a handmade card from me, either comment here or on Facebook and send me your address. That’s it!

I think most people these days could use a New Year, fresh start, new beginnings-type pick-me-up. I’d love to be the one to deliver it to you.

As always, thanks for visiting. More soon.

xo t. elyse

 

One thought on “Auld Lang Syne

  1. Omg. What a great idea. I would love something beautiful to put in an empty frame in my hallway. 😍

    Bekah Schweiger
    1442 Harvard ST NW
    Unit #4
    Washington, DC 20009

Leave a Reply

