Treasures

img_3212

(Listen to: Chihiro by Yoste)

Hi friends!

If you know me, you know that I have a deep, borderline-obsessive love for all things paper/stationery, school supplies, crafting materials, and writing implements. Like, to the point that I have to actually avoid certain sections of Target. Casual trip to Staples? Stroll through Michaels? FORGET IT. I will a) spend hours there, walking up and down the aisles with feverish, breathless excitement akin to a child (aka myself) at Disneyworld, and b) spend a small fortune on supplies I may or may not ever use. And then I will hoard it all. I know this because while packing up my single lady home to move into our married people apartment, I had to go through all of my art/paper good supplies. And it took a long time. And I (begrudgingly) did away with a good amount of it, but still have multiple bins in our closet full of my preciousessesses.

All that to say, it should come as no surprise when I tell you that this obsession further intensifies when I encounter a shop* that is not only full of such items, but is full of Asian stationery items…In other words, EVERYTHING IS ADORABLE. Instead of just a pencil, you get pencils covered in cats. In place of your standard pink eraser, you have tiny erasers shaped like hamburgers and donuts. Not to mention all the Hello Kitty you could ever want. I don’t care who you are, that ish is CUTE AF. So, naturally, I had to take a few cuties home with me. Believe me, there were fistfuls of happies that I had to put down for the sake of our finances (who needs food, honestly?), and it will most definitely not be the last time I stop by and drool over all of it. Here’s what I finally decided on:

Clockwise from top: 

1. A tiny rectangle of squee proportions, containing lead refills for a mechanical pencil.

2. Said mechanical pencil; I went with a basic white so that I could feel like an adult, but a part of my heart breaks for the Hello Kitty pencil that could have been.

3. A pencil sharpener shaped like a pig! Its’ little snout lifts up to reveal the opening. I’ve been needing a new sharpener for a while now, and there this little guy was, just waiting for me.

4. A white-ink gel pen of sorts. I needed a white-ink pen for an upcoming custom project, so I’m anxious to see if this one works well for me!

5. Last but not least, an eraser. I’ve ruined quite a few cards because of crappy erasers smudging the ink while erasing the pencil lines. This one feels pretty flexible and it is mint, soooo…

I hope you enjoyed reading about one of my many oddities. Don’t worry, they don’t end here. Plenty more strangeness to reveal.

Thanks for visiting!

t. elyse

*A tiny shop located in H-Mart, an Asian food market/shopping center and Josh and I’s absolute favorite place to eat.

2 thoughts on “Treasures

  1. Have you heard of MochiThings? It’s my favorite online stationery shop. I order my planner from there every year and they have the absolute cutest things!!

Leave a Reply

